Beyond Tourism: Florida's Yesteryear

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Living History with Food – Key Lime Pie February 17, 2010

Basket of Key Limes

In order to avoid infringing on copyright and having gourmetsleuth contact me and say please remove our recipe from your blog. Which I’ve had happen with other information on another blog I used to write. I’m going to leave links to different Key Lime Pie recipes. So you’ll have to go directly to the site to get the recipe.

Gourmet Sleuth Key Lime Pie

Kermit’s Key Lime Pie

Anniversary Key Lime from Mel Goes Mennonite

Key Lime Pie VII from Allrecipes.com

So what makes key limes and key lime pie special to Florida? According to Kermit from Kermit’s Key West Lime Shoppe Key Limes only grow well in a small number of zones and the Keys are one of those places. Key Lime trees grow all over the Keys and at least one is in almost every yard. As Key Limes grow they start out green and turn yellow as they ripen.

Egg yolks are used to make Key Lime Pie so instead of a soft pudding texture you’ll end up with a custard consistency instead. The yellow Key Limes and the egg yolks give Key Lime Pie it’s yellow color so if the pie is green you know it’s not a key lime pie. Also when making Key Lime pie make sure to use actual Key Limes. They are more acidic and bitter than regular limes and will give your pie a more tart taste than regular green limes.

Condensed milk is used because when Key West was founded fresh milk was difficult to acquire being that the only way at the time to reach Key West or any of the other keys was by boat until railroad was built and after that the seven mile bridge, also known as the Overseas Highway.

Enjoy your pie and if you ever visit Key West remember to have a piece of pie while watching the Sunset at Mallory Square.

Slice of Key Lime Pie

 

8 Responses to “Living History with Food – Key Lime Pie”

  1. I quite partial to Key Lime Pie being a Floridian. In fact, when I was living in Africa, and I succeeded in making a scrumptious key lime pie.

  2. Lyra Says:

    Key Lime Pie is scrumptious. I have never made one myself before. Not even for this blog post. Maybe it’s time I did.

    Thanks for commenting on my blog.

  3. MMM–need—and makes me long for spring and summer even more than I already do!

  4. How I’d love to have a slice now! Unfortunately, I don’t think they’re well-known here in Germany.

  5. Thanks for the tip! There are Asian stores in my area. Then I’d have to go on a search for graham crackers… šŸ™‚

    • Lyra Says:

      Let me know if you find any. They might not be called Key Limes though. They are also grown in Mexico for commercial sale and there they are called Mexican limes. I don’t know what they are called in Asia.


Leave a Reply

